Record number of companies compete in Irish Software Awards – TSSG shortlisted for Outstanding Academic Achievement of the Year

By 31st October 2014 No Comments

logo-isaThursday, 30th October: The Irish Software Association (ISA) has released the shortlist of 20 indigenous technology companies that are vying for the title of Digital Technology Company of the Year at the ISA Awards to be held in Dublin on 21 November.

Four companies have been shortlisted for ISA Digital Technology Company of the Year; CarTrawler, Ocuco, Sláinte Healthcare, and TDS.  Between them, these Irish companies employ over 660 people. 

In the Emerging Company of the Year category, sponsored by William Fry, four younger and highly innovative companies, Boxever, Brite:Bill, Snapfile and Pharmapod will battle it out for the top prize. 

Other categories include, Outstanding Achievement in International Growth, sponsored by Enterprise Ireland, Technology Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Bank of Ireland, Technology Services Project of the Year, and the Excellence in Talent Development Award.

The work of five academic institutions and researchers has also been recognised with Lero@DKIT, Innovation Value Institute (IVI), Insight Centre for Data Analytics, TSSG / FeedHenry, Irish Centre for High-End Computing (ICHEC) also nominated for Outstanding Academic Achievement of the Year. 

In addition, a selection of foreign direct investment (FDI) companies have been shortlisted in the Multinational Initiative of the Year category, having shown a solid commitment to supporting the growth of the industry as a whole in Ireland. 

John O’Brien, CEO of S3 Group, winner of last year’s overall award and one of this year’s judges said: “This year saw the largest number of entrants into the ISA Software Industry Awards, all of exceptional merit. Reducing the nominees to this final shortlist has been a highly challenging task for the judges. Shortlisted companies have demonstrated outstanding performance over the previous year, combining aspects of technical innovation, sales achievements and successful partnering strategies. These companies exhibit a proven ability to attract financial resources, as well as showing a return for stakeholders, customers, staff and investors, thus demonstrating a real competitive differentiation” he concluded.

Following publication of shortlisted entries, all companies will present to an independent panel of judges who represent CEOs and founders of successful Irish software and digital technology companies. Almost 70 tech companies and organisations from across Ireland entered this year’s awards and winners will be announced at the annual awards event on 21 November in Dublin. Jay Bregman (Co-founder of Hailo) has been announced as the keynote speaker on the evening.

The full list of the shortlisted companies can be found on www.software.ie/awards

TSSG have been shortlisted of the Outstanding Academic Achievement of the Year (kindly sponsored by ISIN)
Dr. Fergal McCaffrey, Lero@DKIT
Innovation Value Institute (IVI)
Dr. Martin Serrano, Open IoT project, Insight Centre for Data Analytics
TSSG / FeedHenry
Irish Centre for High-End Computing (ICHEC)